Session 7 – Website Design

I loved this session! Although it scared me as its something I have never done before this is one of the biggest reasons for me attending this course, to hopefully do this as a business one day!

Website design is set up by using mainly WordPress, we were shown the process of buying our own domain using 1&1 and how cheap and effective this can be.  Dave also showed us all about dedicated hosting and the different types of domains. We also looked at ensuring our site was mobile optimised (the hamburger icon is visible) and how to add plugins and the variety of plugins available.

During the afternoon session, we logged onto WordPress and started to design our own web page based on the company we currently work for.  We were shown the templates available and the main information we should be adding to any web page:

  • About
  • Contact
  • Blog
  • Content

I have since this session bought my domain and started to design my own web page using WordPress…watch this space and I will upload the finished product!

Screen Shot 2017-05-28 at 20.24.16.png

Leave a Reply

